Friday, August 23, 2013

Shadow banking - China Weekly Hangout

Sara Hsu
Banking outside the official banks - shadow banks - has always been a major feature in China's financial industry. Some media reports have estimated its size last year on around US$ 2.2 trillion. But now the central authorities try to reign in lending by the banks, shadow banking is getting a bit out of its shadow.
The +China Weekly Hangout is happy to announce it will be joined by Sara Hsu of , one of the leading experts on shadow banking in China, on Friday 30 August to discuss this financial feature. Dr. Hsu is an Assistant Professor of Economics at the State University of New York at New Paltz.
How large is shadow banking, compared to the official industry? Who are the major players? Can the central government control it? If you have questions for Sara Hsu, you can leave your questions here, or join the debate on Friday. You can register for participation or leave your questions also at our event page here.
The +China Weekly Hangout will be held on Friday (not Thursday, our usual broadcasting time) at 10pm Beijing Time, 4pm CEST (Europe) and 10am EST (US/Canada).
Moderation by +Fons Tuinstra of the China Speakers Bureau.

After GSK got into trouble with China's authorities in July for large-scale corruption, foreign firms have been complaining they are singled out for anti-corruption actions by the government. At the +China Weekly Hangout veteran Janet Carmosky and sustainability professor +Richard Brubaker explored on August 22 whether that complain is correct. Moderation by +Fons Tuinstra, president of the China Speakers Bureau.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Post a Comment